Puget Sound Energy Fellowship

In 1997, Puget Sound Energy teamed with Central Washington University to establish The Puget Sound Energy Graduate Fellowship in Geology. This graduate fellowship, which began the first year the department accepted graduate students into our MS program, affirmed the electric and gas company’s commitment to geological research in the State of Washington.

The Puget Sound Energy Graduate Fellowship in Geology supports students whose research focuses on the study of geologic natural hazards in the Pacific Northwest, including earthquakes, floods and mudslides. As one corporate representative stated, “It is so much easier to spend a few dollars now training, planning and researching the geologic risks or our region, than to spend the millions in the future, to repair damaged communities.”

The Central Washington University Foundation and the College of the Sciences gratefully recognize the legacy created by Puget Sound Energy and proudly honor the fellows listed below.

  • 2021-22: Bethany Kharrazi, Austin Halstead, Edward Vlasenko
  • 2020-21: Jessica Hartman
  • 2019-20: Jana MacInnis, Alyssa DeMott
  • 2018-19: Silas Sleeper
  • 2017-18: Brandon Kautzman, Pedro Matos Llavona
  • 2016-17: Colin Bloom, Logan Wetherell, Melanie Swick
  • 2015-16: Brian Marion
  • 2014-15: not awarded
  • 2013-14: Dan Pittenger
  • 2012-13: Elyse Frohling
  • 2011-12: Ian Delaney
  • 2010-11: Zoe Futornick
  • 2009-10: Matt Jenkins
  • 2008-09: Holly Rotman
  • 2007-08: Michelle Tebbe
  • 2006-07: Jim Chapman
  • 2005-06: Sarah Taylor
  • 2004-05: Pam Stewart
  • 2003-04: Ross Hendrick
  • 2002-03: Mike Caron
  • 2001-02: Brooke Asbury
  • 2000-01: Kurt Hosman
  • 1999-00: Suzanne Blakeney
  • 1998-99: Benjamin Paul